Can we face it? Criminals don’t ask if they can carry a weapon or not, they just do. With our current gun laws, the only residents of Florida being penalized are law-abiding citizens. Where is the justification in that!
Currently there are 20 States across this “union” that allow for constitutional carry and thanks to our State Representative Anthony Sabitini we may get a chance here in Florida to exercise those same God-ordained rights. Rep Sabitini filed HB 103 on 15 September 2021 and the Florida League of the South completely supports his efforts in doing so.
The gun grabbers here in our State hoot-and-holler about how constitutional carry is opening a can of worms. They are afraid that it may lead to violence and can be taken to the court by the lawyers for domestic violence charges. Let me ask you this … it’s October right now, October has been labeled “Domestic Violence Awareness Month”. People know that beating your spouse or child is illegal, yet it happens. Why does it happen? Your guess is as good as ours but I’m sure you can agree, a law created by man doesn’t make it not happen.
Stupid people do stupid things! The rest of us are made to suffer for their stupidity. It is as though you are the criminal because the laws written you only follow.
The law seems bona fide right?
We don’t need gun laws; We need better gun handling education and we need to hold people responsible for their actions. We need to allow Floridians the unencumbered ability to protect themselves and their families if the occasion should arise.
Below is a list of all current States, as of July 2021, that allow constitutional carry. Let Florida be #21.
State-by-State Constitutional Carry Laws
- Alaska: No permit will be required for both open carry and concealed carry to residents and non-residents. Open carry is for 16 years old and concealed carry is for those 21 years old and above.
- Arizona: Both Arizona state residents and nonresidents with no permits need to be 18 years old to open carry. While for concealed carry, one should be 21 years old and above.
- Arkansas: The state allows any person to legally possess a firearm and carry a concealed firearm without a license or permit. It also requires that the person is 19 years old and above to carry both concealed or open carry firearms.
- Idaho: Before July 1, 2016, the states only allow permitless carry and only outside city limits, with only permitless open carry being legal statewide. Now laws have changed, and both open carry and concealed carry are legal statewide. It is also allowed for both residents and nonresidents that are 18 years old and above.
- Iowa: Took effect on July 1, 2021, the bill removes the requirement for a permit to carry a firearm concealed or open carry within city limits. Both concealed carry and open carry are allowed for 21 years old and above.
- Kansas: Effective July 1, 2015, both residents and non-residents who are 21 years old and above can carry concealed. Open carry is allowed for both residents and nonresidents at 18 years old and above. The state of Kansas has also issued licenses to carry concealed handguns on a shall-issue basis. It benefits its residents to carry their firearms with Kansas concealed carry permits in other states.
- Kentucky: The state allows residents and non-resident who are 21 years old and above to carry concealed firearms without a permit. Open carry without a permit is allowed for both residents and nonresidents who are 18 years old and above.
- Maine: Both residents and nonresidents are allowed for open carry without a permit for 18 years old and above. Concealed carry is also allowed for both residents and non-residents 21 years old and above.
- Mississippi: The state still requires a permit for concealed carry and is allowed for 18 years old and above. While no permits are needed for open carry at 18 years old and above for both residents and non-residents.
- Missouri: The bill SB 656 allows no permit for both open carry or concealed carry to residents and nonresidents 18 years old and above. However, unlicensed open carry can still be restricted by local city ordinances unless a concealed carry permit is possessed. It also exempts them from local open carry restrictions.
- Montana: The HB 102 law allows both residents and non-residents to concealed carry a firearm throughout the state without a permit for 18 years old and above. Permitless carry is already legal within the state for both residents and non-residents, 18 years old and above.
- New Hampshire: The New Hampshire Senate bill signed on February 22, 2017 allows both residents and non-residents to open carry or concealed carry of handguns. No permit is required to carry a gun within the state for 18 years old and above. New Hampshire Supreme Court also clarifies that the law did not prohibit carrying a concealed handgun for unloaded firearms.
- North Dakota: The state requires the people to carry a form of state-issued photo ID for those that are carrying concealed without a concealed weapons license. The resident also needs to be a North Dakota resident for at least 30 days and should be 18 years old and above. Open carry of loaded handguns still requires a permit but no permit is needed for open carry unloaded handguns. Non-residents are still required to have a permit recognized by North Dakota for open carry or concealed carry.
- Oklahoma: With House Bill 2597 effective November 1, 2019, the state allows both residents and non-residents that are 21 years old and above to open carry or concealed carry without a permit and 18 years old and above in the military.
- South Dakota: The states already allow open carry without a permit for 18 years old and above through SB 47 effective July 1, 2019. It changed the law by removing the requirement of a permit to concealed carry a handgun for residents and nonresidents, for 18 years old and above.
- Texas: The HB1927 approved by the Texas Senate will take effect on September 1, 2021, thereby allowing the carrying of a handgun without a license for open carry or concealed carry for individuals 21 years old and above. Carrying long guns without a license in the state of Texas is already legal, and open carry requires a holster.
- Utah: The states allow both open carry and concealed carry without a permit for 21 years old and above. Concealed carry with a provisional permit or open carry without a permit is allowed if the firearm is unloaded.
- Vermont: No permits are required for both open carry and concealed carry in the state of Vermont which applies to residents and non-residents 18 years old and above who can legally own a firearm.
- West Virginia: The states allow open carry with no permit for both resident and non-residents, 18 years old and above. Concealed carry is also allowed for residents and non-residents 21 years old and above.
- Wyoming: The state of Wyoming allows United States citizens and lawful permanent residents aged 21 years old and above to open carry and concealed carry without a permit.
Think Florida First Click or tap here to learn more.